May Musings….

Hello, sweet friends.  Here at the castle, sparks are flying from my needles.  I am finishing a couple of larger projects that I have been working on for some time, leaving me to work on smaller projects through the summer.  Although it seems it’s the summer months when I begin thinking of stitched gifts for the holidays.  I guess I’ll just keep stitching regardless of the time of year.  But no complaints here.  As you know, stitching is in my blood.  🙂

I have been working on wedding plans, yes, my youngest is getting married.  I am so happy for him, he has found a wonderful young lady who loves him as much as he loves her.  But it is also a bittersweet time for me.   I just wonder where the years have gone.   Joshua is the youngest of my four children.  It truly does seem like only yesterday when he was in kindergarten.  This is one of my favorite pictures of him – he has always loved the outdoors and is an avid hunter and fisherman.  It’s too bad my father passed because he and Josh would have gotten along very well – Dad was quite the fisherman.

josh

(He’ll kill me if he sees this, but I think there is little chance he will read my blog!)  I may not have any little ones of my own anymore, but I do have some grandbabies.  This is one of my favorite grandbaby pictures.  Look at those ‘kissin’ cheeks’.

bailey

It’s absolutely miserable here.  Rain, rain, and more rain and it’s is supposed to continue  through the weekend.  Makes good stitching weather, though.  I am almost finished with my Merry Christmas sampler and am simultaneously working on Tis the Season.  These are both by Blackbird Designs and are among my favorite designs.  I especially like the Merry Christmas sampler because of its non-traditional colors.  You can buy this chart on our website.  Tis the Season is out of print as a chart only but can by purchased in a book of patterns by Blackbird Designs.  Just email me if you are interested.  Email Princess and the Peddler

As soon as the wedding is over, the Peddler and I will be working on our own line of hand dyed, overdyed threads.  How cool is that?  Our plan is to divide these into ‘collections’, based on color family.  We are pretty excited.  Putting  pencil to paper shows that we should be able to sell these collections at a much more affordable price than some of the other hand-dyed threads.  Keep your fingers crossed and stay tuned for progress reports.

You may have noticed that there is an extra ‘page’ added to our blog.  On our Home Page, you will see a page called ‘Kindred Spirits’.  This is where I have listed blogs that I follow.  Just click on the link and you’ll be taken straight to the blog.  If you have a blog you follow or would like your own blog listed, just email me and I’ll add it to our list.  I love reading what other stitchy folks are up to.

If you recall, I had put the idea out there if there was any interest in having a stitching retreat next summer.  I did receive some positive feedback but not enough to move forward with the retreat.  Maybe I’ll try again a little later.  I do, however, have some ideas of how we can do something together, without travel.  I’m leaning toward a Stitch-A-Long.  I can’t wait to see all the different finishes of the same pattern.  I’m always impressed with everyone’s creativity.  I’m sure I won’t roll this out until Autumn since summer is so busy for most folks.

If you haven’t signed up for our newsletter through our website, you should really think about it.  We offer coupons and sales that are not open to the general public.  So, don’t miss out!  (Shhhhhh, there’s a sale going on right now.  Check out the most recent newsletter to see how you can take advantage of the deals.  The newsletters are archived on the website.  If you can’t find them, just email me and I’ll point you in the right direction. )

Lastly, have you all seen the newest floss by Classic Colorworks?  They are absolutely scrumptious!  We sell these as a set ($6.95) and I’ll include a Little House Needleworks pattern designed specifically for these new flosses.  They are named Colonial Rose, Tea and Biscuits, and Secret Garden.

classic colorworks

The Princess & the Peddler

Alrighty, then, time to get some stitchin’ done.  I always love to read your comments.  Please feel free to leave your comments and to LIKE our blog.

Until next time, be kind to each other.

Kim

The Princess & the Peddler

Leave a comment