Spades take up leaves, no better than spoons, And bagfuls of leaves, as light as balloons….

Greetings, friends.

Today’s blog heading is part of a lovely poem by Robert Frost.  I may have mentioned a time or two (or three) that autumn is my favorite time of year.  To me it is the beginning of a most magical time.  Bonfires, clambakes, the crunch of leaves as we walk.   Autumn heralds in Hallowe’en (now who doesn’t LOVE Hallowe’en stitching —come on, raise your hand!  I thought so.  🙂  and then Thanksgiving with friends and family, and that leads us to Christmas.  We stitchers HAVE to be able to find something to work on to celebrate these great seasons. I have been finishing up some projects (pictures coming soon!).   I didn’t realize how much I had that was ready for the framer.

And that brings me to today’s topic – framing.    Some of the framing for my needlework, I do my myself, especially if it’s not too big.  You can have the most beautiful stitching ever and ruin it by not framing it correctly. Keep in mind, if it’s worth your time, it’s worth finishing correctly.  And that doesn’t necessarily mean only framing.  If your strong point is stitching, but not so much in the finishing department, find a seamstress who can do that part for you.  We aren’t all put on this earth as experts on everything…now I will admit I have met some folks who THINK they are experts on everything, but I digress.  😉

So, cherish your work and hopefully it will become a family heirloom.  I know many artisans who quilt and I think many of  us think only of quilts as something to be passed down to the next generation.  But, my friends, we are a dying breed.  Few have the time to create these works of art any more.  AND REMEMBER, this is a form of art.

I am going to leave you with an Autumn freebie this time.  This is called ‘King of Autumn’ and is a freebie generously donated by Primitive Acorns.  Isn’t it a sweet stitch? I hope you enjoy it.

king of autumn

chart Remember, right click, open in new tab and print.

And before Autumn slips away entirely, this is where I will be, stitching away.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And until next, be kind to each other..

Peace and All Good Things.

Kim

The Princess and the Peddler

Leave a Reply

