How High’s the Water, Mama? Three Feet High and Risin’!

Happy end of June, everyone!

I am really showing my country roots and age with the heading of this blog!   For those of you unfamiliar with this lyric, it was a song recorded by Johnny Cash and June Carter back in the sixties.  I was a mere child (I really was!) and my dad loved Johnny Cash so I was exposed to this genre of music from a very early age.  It somehow came flooding (no pun intended!) to the front of my mind due to the extreme weather conditions lately.

Summer is here and I believe the monsoon season is upon us. Rain, rain, and more rain.  In our area, we are 5″ above the ‘normal’ (whatever that is!) rainfall for June.  So, I have been remiss in stitching and in posting.  Having a finished lower level (read: basement) and having suffered from water backup three times previously, my time has been spent running up and down the steps to make sure that the water is staying outside.  If nothing else, my legs are getting a good workout.  The good news is, NO WATER!  YET!

So, in between trips to check on the water level, I did manage to complete a small finish.  This chart was posted by me a while back as a freebie from The Primitive Hare.  She had suggested completing it in either dark reds or navy blues.  The reds go better with my decor.  love never fails

I found a little metal tag with the word ‘Love’ imprinted on it and sewed it above the words.  I think the tab was supposed to be used in a scrapbooking project, something I gave up LONG ago. I have placed this little pillow tuck in my window and love it.  It you want to look for the pattern, scroll back through the archives of my blogs, and the pattern will be there.  🙂

I have one-third of my ‘Mystery Sampler’ completed.  What fun it is!   I mentioned in my last blog, that if you haven’t participated in one of these yet, I really do encourage you to give it a shot!

With the Fourth of July upon us, I thought it would be appropriate to offer a couple patriotic freebies.  I’ve included a nautical themed one for our coastal stitching friends or ‘just because’.  Now, remember, I blogged about adding some pizzazz in the form of beading to your work?  These small projects may be just the right sized projects for you to give it a try.  In the Liberty chart below, I would suggest adding some beading to the ‘dot’ in the i.  Just a little.  See how you like it.

Liberty 001

Freedom 001

Remember to right click on the charts, click on copy, then paste into another window where you can resize the chart to meet your needs.

Have a safe Fourth of July, and, remember, if you love your freedom, thank a veteran.  Until next time.

Peace and all good things.

Kim

The Princess and the Peddler

Leave a Reply

