40 Count Linen??? I’m BLIND!!

HI  y’all.  I have been working on an order for a customer who requested the design be stitched on 40 (yes, I wrote 40) count linen.  For those of you who may not be familiar with working on linen, this means that there are 40 threads to an inch of fabric. Now, I’ve worked on linen for years but never 40 count.  So, I bravely purchased the material, sat down in my sewing chair, turned on every light that I possibly could so the area would be as bright as possible.  And I began…stitch, stitch, stitch, oh wait a minute, that doesn’t look right, rip, rip, rip…Start over.  And so goes my project on 40 count linen.  It has been a slow go, but I have to admit that I do like the look of it.  It is very prim looking, especially since only one thread of floss is being used.  I’m not sure that I would agree to make a project on 40 count again because it is very time consuming.  I would make something for myself, but not as an order.  😉

So, what are YOU working on?  I’m not a big fan of summer themed stitches.  I lean more toward fall, Halloween, Thanksgiving, winter and Christmas.  If I start now, I may have something stitched for all the girls in my family.  That’s the plan anyway. I found some absolutely lovely formal Christmas themed stitches that I really want to make for one of my daughters-in-law.  I have to make that a priority.  There is nothing prim about it, but she isn’t really the prim type anyway.  So, I have a full plate, for sure.  But I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Take a moment this Memorial Day to remember those who have gone before you, especially our service men and women. If you love your freedom, thank a veteran.

Until next time.

Be kind to each other.

Kim

The Princess and the Peddler

Leave a Reply

